Missouri Auto Insurance Laws The bank rate
Missouri car insurance laws state that licensed drivers are required to purchase auto insurance in order to drive legally. Missouri auto insurance minimum liability limits are 25/50/25, plus 25/50 coverage for uninsured / underinsured motorists.
The Missouri auto insurance requirements are primarily designed to protect the other driver if you are in a at-fault accident, but they can also protect you and your passengers if you are hit by someone who doesn’t. has no insurance or if you are involved in an accident. racing accident.
Understanding the scope of Missouri auto insurance laws is important for drivers so they can know how much and what types of insurance they need to purchase to properly protect themselves.
Auto Insurance Laws in Missouri
Missouri insurance laws require liability limits of 25/50/25. Here’s what it means:
- $ 25,000 in civil liability for bodily injury: This is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for the medical expenses of a person in an accident you cause.
- Total civil liability of $ 50,000: This means that if there is more than one person injured in a at-fault accident, your insurer will pay a maximum of $ 50,000 for all injuries caused by a single accident.
- Liability for property damage of $ 25,000: Your insurer will pay a maximum of $ 25,000 to repair or replace the other driver’s car, or any other property, such as a fence or a lamp post, that you damaged in a at-fault accident.
Missouri also requires drivers to carry 25/50 of uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage (UM / UIM). This is the maximum your insurer will pay per person per accident if you are involved in an accident with another driver who is illegally on the road without insurance or who does not have enough insurance to cover your injuries or property damage. It also covers hit-and-run accidents.
Complying with Missouri’s auto insurance laws is relatively inexpensive, compared to other states. the average cost Minimum coverage in Missouri is $ 445, more than $ 100 less than the national average of $ 563. Comprehensive coverage, which includes collision and comprehensive insurance, costs an average of $ 1,680 in Missouri.
Liability Insurance in Missouri
Liability, as a legal term, refers to something for which you are responsible – such as injury or damage from an accident that you cause. Your liability coverage goes into effect and pays for such injuries or damages within the limits of the policy.
Is the minimum coverage adequate to protect you in all cases? Most insurance experts would say no. Take the example of an accident that happens if you turn on a red light and crash into a vehicle waiting to turn left. If the driver sustains internal injuries that require surgery and extensive rehabilitation care, your $ 25,000 liability coverage will quickly disappear.
$ 25,000 for property damage is also low, when you consider that the average price of a new car in the United States is over $ 40,000. If the car you hit is a luxury SUV, truck or sedan, you will be personally responsible for any cost over $ 25,000.
Is Missouri a Flawless State?
Missouri is not one of the 12 faultless states in the United States, no-fault laws are designed to limit the number of lawsuits filed and make the insurance claims process easier and simpler. Missouri being a “failed” state, three options are available to you following an accident that you did not cause:
- You can file a claim with your own insurer, knowing that if you are not at fault, your insurer will file a subrogation claim with the other driver’s company.
- You can file a third party claim directly with the other driver’s insurer.
- You can sue for bodily injury against the other driver.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Missouri
Missouri takes its auto insurance laws seriously, and there are heavy fines for drivers who do not have proof of insurance with them if they are pulled over by police. There are three initial penalties involved:
- The court will ask the driver’s license office to add four points to the driver’s record.
- The court will enter a supervision order so that the driver is monitored to ensure that they are purchasing and maintaining a liability insurance policy.
- The court can suspend the driver’s license. This may not happen on a first incident, but it is possible. If their driver’s license is suspended, there is a reinstatement fee of $ 20 for the first offense, $ 200 for the second offense, and $ 400 for the third and subsequent suspensions.
Additional Auto Insurance Coverage Options in Missouri
Liability and UM / UIM coverage aren’t the only types of insurance you can purchase in Missouri. Most insurers offer a wide range of optional coverages that allow you to create a more robust and comprehensive policy that will cover you regardless of the type of auto accident you experience. Some of your options are:
- Collision: This covers damage to your own car in an accident regardless of who caused it. It may be required by your banker if you have an auto loan. There is a deductible, usually between $ 250 and $ 2,000, that you choose when you purchase the policy.
- Full: Usually associated with a collision, this coverage covers damage caused by accidents not related to an accident, such as theft, vandalism, or a natural disaster (such as a hailstorm or if a tree falls on your car).
- Medical payments (Medpay): This type of insurance covers your own injuries or those of your passengers in an accident, regardless of the fault.
- Gap Coverage: If your car is totaled in an accident and you have collision insurance, you should receive a check for its depreciated value (less your deductible). However, if you owe more than the depreciated value of your car loan, gap coverage will pay the difference.
- Rental reimbursement: If your car is being repaired, this coverage option will pay for a rental vehicle for you while it is in the shop.
- Towing and labor coverage: This type of insurance goes into effect if you break down on the road and typically pays for tire changes, starts, lockout assistance, gas or oil delivery, or towing to a gas station. .
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company in Missouri?
There are a number of insurance companies that write good policies in Missouri, including Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Auto Club Enterprises, and Shelter Mutual. To find the best insurer for your own needs a good place to start is with Bankrate’s Best Missouri Auto Insurance Companies 2021 SEO.
What is the cheapest auto insurance in Missouri?
There isn’t one company that is always the cheapest for everyone. Several factors, including the age and model of your car, your driving record and no credit check, go into determining your rate. To start your search, consult our Cheap auto insurance companies of 2021 listing.
Is Missouri’s minimum auto insurance sufficient to protect me?
This will be sufficient as long as you are not involved in a major accident. If there are injuries, or a car is totaled, you might not be adequately covered if all you have is the Missouri Minimum. We recommend that you purchase as much coverage as you can, such as 100/300/50, and that you consider adding collision and comprehensive coverage to your policy as well.